37 States That Won’t Tax Your Social Security Benefits

Many retirees count on their monthly Social Security checks to make ends meet. Depending on total income, some people may need to pay federal income taxes on those retirement benefits. Retirees in 13 states may also need to pay state income taxes on Social Security. Avoiding these states can trim your tax bill in retirement.

SEE ALSO: 10 Worst States for Taxes on Retirees
Which States Tax Social Security?

Here are the 37 states that do not tax Social Security retirement benefits: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

In addition, the District of Columbia does not tax Social Security benefits.

Here are the 13 states that tax Social Security retirement benefits: Colorado, Connecticut, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont and West Virginia.

Keep in mind that a tax on Social Security isnt the sole factor in determining whether a state is truly tax-friendly for retirees. Its important to weigh other taxes including state and local sales taxes, state income tax, property taxes, and taxes on other retirement income such as IRAs, 401(k)s and pensions. Take a look at Kiplinger’s state by state guide to taxes on retirees for detailed tax information on your state.

SEE ALSO: 10 Most Tax-Friendly States for Retirees

Show comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.